Administrator
    Blog Entries

Is Google Making Us Lose Memory?

Something most of my marketing friends and associates don't know about me is that I am a psychologist; by degree anyway. Even though I am not a practicing psychologist by trade, I find that psychology and marketing go together hand in hand. Having a psychology degree has definitely helped in dealing with employees - and family since we have a family business. Anyhow, that is why I love articles like this one Google Search is Destroying Our Memory. The article basically says that we are not training our memory to remember things since we know they are easily accessible on the internet. I am wondering how much truth there is to that. Or, I would hypothesize that what we remember is different - and always changing generation over generation. Instead of memorizing the presidents (as the article uses for an example), we remember lists of websites or different computer skills. And generations ago, they had to memorize other things like recipes from scratch, fixing cars differently, etc.

So what do you think. . . and how does it make you feel? (Sorry just had to throw that one in there!)
    Shari McConahay

Free Member